"The PPJ fulfills its mission thanks to the insights, feedback, and support of our invaluable Editorial Advisory Board."
- The Editorial Team


The Public Philosophy Journal (PPJ) Editorial Advisory Board is appointed by the PPJ Editors. In collaboration with the Editors, Board members provide counsel and editorial leadership by helping to evaluate the quality of Journal content and to ensure that all features of the PPJ project reflect our mission to share, create, and publish scholarship by and for the public.



The PPJ editorial team will occasionally consult Editorial Advisory Board members for support in strategic selection of Formative Peer Reviewers and Coordinators, as well as of Field Editors. Members also provide advice and guidance regarding ongoing issues related to the project, its mission, and direction. The editorial team has an open door policy and welcomes feedback from board members related to any aspect of the PPJ.


Editorial Advisory Board members contribute to the quality of content published in the PPJ by agreeing to regularly participate in the PPJ’s Formative Peer Review Process. Board members serve reviewers for manuscripts in their fields of expertise at least twice per year. Because successful Formative Peer Review also depends on active Review Coordinators, board members serve as Formative Peer Review Coordinators.


Special Issues enable the PPJ to focus on specific themes or topics of public relevance. The PPJ editorial team will consult with Editorial Advisory Board members for the approval and management of proposed Special Issues. The PPJ editorial team, Guest Editors external to the Editorial Advisory Board, or Board members themselves may propose Special Issues. When Board members propose a Special Issue, the PPJ editorial team may request that those members serve as Guest Editors for that Special Issue.


In order to provide essential support for the PPJ’s mission, the Editorial Advisory Board members work to cultivate connections between the PPJ community and other communities of which they are a part. We encourage members to promote the PPJ as a platform that provides students, colleagues, and fellow advocates with opportunities to publish in the journal.

Such efforts of our team may include discussing the PPJ at scholarly conferences and meetings and with publicly-engaged activists and organizations, as well as promoting the PPJ on social media platforms.

  • Luvell Anderson, University of Memphis
  • Daniel Brunson, Morgan State University
  • Andrea Christelle, Sedona Philosophy Experience
  • Tressie M. Cottom, Virginia Commonwealth University
  • Kristie Dotson, Michigan State University
  • Shane Epting, University of Nevada, Philosophy of the City Research Group
  • Kathleen Fitzpatrick, Michigan State University
  • Erin Glass, University of California San Diego
  • Rebecca Kennison, K|N Consultants


  • John Lachs, Vanderbilt University
  • Andrew Light, George Mason University
  • Noëlle McAfee, Emory University
  • Nancy A. McHugh, Wittenberg University, Public Philosophy Network
  • Eduardo Mendieta, The Pennsylvania State University
  • Sol Neely, University of Alaska Southeast
  • Lynn Pasquerella, Association of American Colleges & Universities
  • Yannik Thiem, Villanova University
  • Ronald Sundstrom, University of San Francisco
  • Paul B. Thompson, Michigan State University
  • Shelley L. Tremain, Discrimination and Disadvantage Blog
  • Renee Wallace, Doers Consulting, Food Plus Detroit
  • Eric Weber, University of Kentucky, SOPHIA
  • Kyle Whyte, Michigan State University


Thank you to our colleagues who have filled these roles:

Co-Founder: Mark Fisher, The Pennsylvania State University

Co-Founding Sponsor: Pennsylvania State University

Community Manager: Andrea Walsh

Consultant: Nancy Maron, Founder and President of From BlueSky to BluePrint, LLC

Project Manager: Kate Miffitt

Editorial Assistant: Sophia Pavlos

Editorial Assistant: Tiffany Tsantsoulas

Editorial Assistant: Kris Klotz

Editorial Assistant: André Rosenbaum de Avlille

Web Development: Matrix Center for Digital Humanities and Social Sciences

Director of Matrix: Dean Rehberger
Director of Programming at Matrix: Seila Gonzalez Estrecha
Assistant Director at Matrix: Alicia Sheill
Matrix Head of Design: Austin Thompson-Truchan